Insecure Men

Insecure Men

  • fp16472 fp16471
  • £10.99
  • Black Vinyl with Download.
  • £17.99

The debut album from Insecure Men (Saul Adamczewski - ex Fat White Family and Ben Romans-Hopcraft - Childhood) is an understated gem of an album that's part Joe Meek, part Television Personalities and part exotica. In many ways Insecure Men - the band led by the fiercely talented songwriter and musician Saul Adamczewski and his schoolmate and stabilising influence, Ben Romans-Hopcraft - are the polar opposite of the Fat White Family. Whereas sleaze-mired, country-influenced, drug-crazed garage punks the Fat Whites are a “celebration of everything that is wrong in life”, Insecure Men, who blend together exotica, easy listening, lounge and timeless pop music, are, by comparison at least, the last word in wholesomeness. The band originally formed in 2015 in the cramped confines of The Queens Head pub, Stockwell, in the Fat White Family’s notorious South London ‘practice space’. Saul recorded all of the songs he wrote at The Queens Head onto tape at Sean Lennon’s studio in upstate New York. This tape, recorded on his own in a corridor onto an ancient Tascam while in a foul mood with his mates, essentially became Insecure Men’s self-titled debut album as more layers were dubbed over the top until nothing of the original demos remained. Saul lists some of the influences on their sound, mentioning the exotica of Arthur Lyman, the early electronic pop of Perrey and Kingsley, the supreme smoothness of The Carpenters, the songwriting chops of Harry Nilsson and the hypnagogic uncanniness conjured up by David Lynch, describing what they do as “pretty music with a dark underbelly to it”.

LP - Black Vinyl with Download.

LP+ - Limited Cherry Cola Vinyl with Download.

LP++ - Limited Repress on Yellow Vinyl with Download. 300 Copies Only.

Featured in: Jack Albums of the Year 2018, Al Albums of the Year, Leah Albums Of The Year 2018, Albums of the Year 2018, New This Week – 23 February, 2018