New This Week

11th January 2019

1. Tallies - Tallies

Rough Trade Exclusive. Comes with a Different Album Cover and Marble Blue Colour Vinyl. 100 Copies Only.

This is the sound of four to the floor upbeat, driving beats and the rush of that enticing chug makes you feel like you’ve just walked into the most happening Northern soul club going. The guitars come right out of the 80's (and occasionally early 90's) for that jangling, chiming resonance and make for a dreamy soft-focus glow while the vocals bounce out to ace the sound. Cute and playful songs that would have shone out on a C86 compilation.

2. You Tell Me - You Tell Me

Limited White Coloured Vinyl with Download.

The brand new project from Field Music’s Peter Brewis and Admiral Fallow member Sarah Hayes. With both of them writing songs and lyrics, Peter describes it as “a sort of dual-personal record”. The sound is diverse, ranging from Fairport Convention folk, to Talking Heads new wave. It is rich, intricate and meandering, full of interloping harmonies, endearing melodies and evasive noises. What makes this an even more remarkable musical statement and achievement is that two first-time collaborators were able to channel so much of themselves into a project and create something coherent and poised.

3. Kero Kero Bonito - Time 'n' Place

A seemingly dramatic departure from their previous material. Kero Kero Bonito's second album sheds a lot of their J-pop origins for noise-pop, twee-indie, Riot Grrrl and whatever they bloody well like. You might feel a little short changed if it wasn't done with such confidence and style. The album opens with a wall-of-sound, fuzzy bass and cheap drums. It could be The Shop Assistants. It could be The Popguns. But as short as the songs are, so is the time they spend on each influence, moving through St. Etienne, Portishead, Metronomy, chamber, 60's ye-ye pop and crucially Shibuya-kei.

4. Karen O and Danger Mouse - Lux Prima

Limited White Vinyl 12" with Etched B-Side

The song is the first to be released from a forthcoming joint album. “After making music for the past twenty years and embarking on making this record with Brian I knew a couple things: one was that the spirit of collaboration between us was going to be a pure one, and two was that the more I live the less is clear to me,” says Karen O. “When you create from a blurry place you can go places further than you’ve ever been. I think we both were excited to go far out.”

The result is a 9 minute track that moves from an ethereal neon-lit score, to a bass lead trip-hop centre-piece, ending in a strange but necessary amalgamation of the two.

View New Releases by Genre

This Week's Top 20

1. Tallies - Tallies

2. You Tell Me - You Tell Me

3. Kero Kero Bonito - Time 'n' Place

4. Karen O and Danger Mouse - Lux Prima

5. The Delines - The Imperial

6. The Silver Field - Rooms

7. Lorelle Meets the Obsolete - De Facto

8. Nas - Nasir

9. Nicolas Jaar - Nymphs

10. Jeffrey Lewis and Los Bolts - 13 Fall Songs

11. The La's - Open Your Heart

12. Public Service - I'm Gonna Kill That Man

13. The CIA - The CIA

14. Ultramarine - Signals Into Space

15. Forra - Mostrame Lo Peor

16. Mac Demarco and Haruomi Hosono - Honey Moon

17. Logtoad - Rat Full Of Coins Vol 1

18. The Cinematic Orchestra - A Caged Bird / Imitations of Life

19. Khana Bierbood - Strangers From The Far East

20. Mara Simpson - 285 Days