Shame large

Album of the Month - January 2018

Shame - Songs of Praise

Young South London alt-rock alchemists forge pure and passionate guitar-frenzied post-punk beauty from chaos on their debut album.

Comprised of vocalist Charlie Steen, guitarists Sean Coyle-Smith and Eddie Green, bassist John Finerty, and drummer Charlie Forbes, the London-based five-piece have been making a name for themselves with successful single releases and memorable live performances.

If you were worried that the intensity and passion of their live shows would be lost in a studio record then fear not, the boys have captured that energy and turned it into audio gold. Recorded in just 10 days, Songs of Praisenever pauses to catch its breath. From Gold Hole, a tongue-in-cheek takedown of rock narcissism, to lead single Concrete detailing the overwhelming moment of realising a relationship is doomed, Songs of Praise is 10 tracks of rebellious perfection.

Albums Of The Month - January 2018

1. Shame - Songs of Praise

2. Amyl and the Sniffers - Big Attraction and Giddy Up

3. Maxence Cyrin - Novo Piano 11

4. Tyler Childers - Purgatory

5. Robert Finley - Goin' Platinum

6. Wiki - No Mountains In Manhattan

7. Angelo Badalamenti - Blue Velvet

8. Last Of The Easy Riders - Unto the Earth

9. Serpent Power - Electric Looneyland

10. Various - Too Fast To Live Too Fast To Die

Hear more about Shame's Songs of Praise plus our other nine selections as Emily and Nigel sat down to discuss the albums of the month in the latest podcast: